About a year ago I read an article on health and fitness that discussed increasing metabolic rate to burn fat, lose weight etc. It was pretty standard stuff. At the end of the article was a new twist though, they suggested to drink 16oz of chilled water first thing in the morning. I’d been studying health and fitness since age 15, but I’d never heard that before. The idea was that the cold water forces your body chemistry to kick in to compensate for the sudden temperature change.

Intrigued, I decided to try it everyday for a week and see what happens….and I’ve been doing it ever since! Not only does it kick-start the body chemistry, even on cold mornings, but it hydrates you from the nights sleep. The results are instant too, unlike coffee or tea where the caffeine has to get into your system before it ‘wakes you up’. Your mental alertness shoots up, even at 4:00am! Another benefit of course is that the water flushes whatever junk from last night that has settled while sleeping.

I’ve had mornings where by lunch time I couldn’t figure out why I was having trouble focusing or dragging a bit. I realized those are  the days I have forgotten to chug my ice water in the morning. Of course everyone’s chemistry is a little different, so I’ll add the ‘results my vary’ proviso but this is one of those things that you have nothing to lose and no matter what, drinking water is good for you. For me, it has become a key part of my morning productivity.

I challenge you to try it for a least a week and see if you do not notice a difference in the morning. Here are a few things to stick to;

1. It has to be first thing in the am – Before you start pumping the coffee into your system or anything else.

2. It has to be chilled – Room temp water will have little impact.

3. Keep it around 16oz – Less is not really enough to kick-start your metabolism and more is just over fill.

I hope this helps and would love to hear about any results….Toast to your mastery of health!

Leave a Reply

