Recently, a business associate was commenting on articles about balancing diet, rest and exercise to lose weight and maximize his physical energy. He asked me to write about specifics of diet and I agreed so I put pencil to paper(yes I still write things out on paper with a pencil). I thought that it would be fairly easy too, just jot down 4 or 5 things that I’ve learned over the years about good eating habits and it’s done. Wrong….it ended up morphing into five general concepts worth talking about and specifics for each. It’s not really an exhaustive list either, more like a place to just get started. Eating for max energy and proper body weight is a mindset and a lifestyle. You either embrace it and evolve with it as your body changes over time or you don’t. It would seem that mom’s old saying has proven to be true though; ‘Garbage in, Garbage out’.

So let’s get the caveats, provisos and disclaimers out of the way first; I am not a doctor, I am not a dietician or a nutritionist nor do I claim to be. I’m simply someone with 25 years of experience and research in fitness and healthy lifestyles. In addition to doctors and dieticians I have been fortunate to have worked with professional athletes, body builders, martial artists eastern herbalists and even yoga teachers, I’ve learned a little something from them all. Friends & familymembers have struggled with weight and diet management over the years so I’ve attempted to separate fact from fiction & advertising in efforts to aid them. I also have a son with Autism and food allergies, my wife and I have been studying the effects of diet on Autism for almost ten years now and the results have been amazing. What I can tell you is that I get up by 4am almost every day and have more energy than I did in my twenties. I’ve lost almost 30lbs over the last two years and lowered my blood glucose by 14pts in less than tem months.

There you have it, I’m no expert and I don’t claim to be one but I know what has worked for my family and me so I stick to it. When I haven’t, that’s where I’ve gotten into trouble. So with all of that out of the way, where do you start? Well over the next five posts you’ll be introduced to the following concepts;

  1. What do you know about H20?
  2. Do you have a plan?
  3. Can you eat more of these?
  4. Can you eat less of these?
  5. Ready to get the mindset?

Will you live longer? Dunno, I don’t claim to be psychic either but if it makes you feel better and have more energy throughout the day, why wouldn’t ya give it a shot?

Some of the best healthy dining in Arizona. The Herb Box in Scottsdale, AZ
Leave a Reply

